2016 09 – MPs Voting For the Iraq War

The Labour MPs who voted for the Iraq War.

On 18 March 2003, 414 MPs voted for the invasion of Iraq including most of the Labour and Tory front benches. Despite three general elections and several deaths and resignations, 139 of them are still serving in parliament—66 Labour and 69 Tory.

Current Labour MPs and their constituencies who voted for the Iraq war

Adrian Bailey – West Bromwich West
Kevin Barron – Rother Valley
Margaret Beckett – Derby South
Hilary Benn – Leeds Central
Clive Betts – Sheffield, Attercliffe
Ben Bradshaw – Exeter
Nick Brown – Newcastle upon Tyne East and Wallsend
Chris Bryant – Rhondda
Andy Burnham – Leigh
Alan Campbell – Tynemouth
Ann Clwyd – Cynon Valley
Vernon Coaker – Gedling
Ann Coffey – Stockport
Yvette Cooper – Pontefract and Castleford
Jon Cruddas – Dagenham
Jim Cunningham – Coventry South
Wayne David – Caerphilly
Geraint Davies – Croydon Central
Jim Dowd – Lewisham West
Angela Eagle – Wallasey
Maria Eagle – Liverpool, Garston
Louise Ellman – Liverpool, Riverside
Paul Farrelly – Newcastle-under-Lyme
Frank Field – Birkenhead
Jim Fitzpatrick – Poplar and Canning Town
Caroline Flint – Don Valley
Mike Gapes – Ilford South
Barry Gardiner – Brent North
Roger Godsiff – Birmingham
Sparkbrook and Small Heath
David Hanson – Delyn
Harriet Harman – Camberwell and Peckham
John Healey – Wentworth
Mark Hendrick – Preston
Margaret Hodge – Barking
George Howarth – Knowsley North and Sefton East
Lindsay Hoyle – Chorley
Alan Johnson – Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle
Helen Jones – Warrington North
Kevan Jones – North Durham
Gerald Kaufman – Manchester, Gorton
Chris Leslie – Shipley
Ivan Lewis – Bury South
Fiona Mactaggart – Slough
John Mann – Bassetlaw
Rob Marris – Wolverhampton South West
Gordon Marsden – Blackpool South
Steve McCabe – Birmingham, Hall Green
Siobhain McDonagh – Mitcham and Morden
Steve Pound – Ealing North
Geoffrey Robinson – Coventry North West
Joan Ryan – Enfield North
Barry Sheerman – Huddersfield
Andrew Smith – Oxford East
Angela Smith – Basildon
John Spellar – Warley
Gisela Stuart – Birmingham, Edgbaston
Mark Tami – Alyn and Deeside
Gareth Thomas – Harrow West
Stephen Timms – East Ham
Derek Twigg – Halton
Stephen Twigg – Enfield, Southgate
Keith Vaz – Leicester East
Tom Watson – West Bromwich East
David Winnick – Walsall North
Rosie Winterton – Doncaster Central

Labour MPs who voted for the Iraq war but now represent the following different constituencies:

Geraint Davies- Swansea West
Chris Leslie- Nottingham East
Angela Smith- Penistone and Stocksbridge
Stephen Twigg- Liverpool, West Derby

Labour MPs who voted for the Iraq war and whose constituency name has changed slightly:

Clive Betts- Sheffield South East
Nick Brown- Newcastle upon Tyne East
Yvette Cooper- Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
John Cruddas- Dagenham and Rainham
Jim Dowd- Lewisham West and Penge
Maria Eagle- Garston and Halewood
Jim Fitzpatrick- Poplar and Limehouse
Roger Godsiff- Birmingham, Hall Green
John Healey- Wentworth and Deane
George Howarth- Knowsley
Steve McCabe- Birmingham, Selly Oak.

Current Labour MPs and their constituencies who voted against the Iraq war

Of 85 Labour MPs who defied Tony Blair to vote against the war, just 13 are still in parliament.

Diane Abbott – Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Graham Allen – Nottingham North
Ronnie Campbell – Blyth Valley
Jeremy Corbyn – Islington North
David Crausby – Bolton North East
John Cryer – Hornchurch
Clive Efford – Eltham
Paul Flynn – Newport West
Kate Hoey – Vauxhall
Kelvin Hopkins – Luton North
John McDonnell – Hayes and Harlington
Graham Stringer – Manchester, Blackley
Jon Trickett – Hemsworth


Labour MPs who voted against the Iraq war and whose constituency name has changed slightly:

John Cryer- Leyton and Wanstead
Graham Stringer- Blackley and Broughton.